Aquarium are:

Sam Leak - Piano/Composition
James Allsopp/Sam Crockatt - Tenor Saxophone/Bass Clarinet
Calum Gourlay - Double Bass
Joshua Blackmore - Drums

Their debut album was recorded in 2009 and released to a fantastic critical reception, alongside an extensive Arts Council funded national tour, in the summer of 2011 on the prestigious Babel Label . This was featured as one of the top 10 international Jazz albums of 2011 in MOJO Magazine, where it was described as "Multi-faceted and smart as a pin, this is poetic chamber Jazz of a very high order" (Chris Ingham). In April 2012 they recorded their second album for the exciting new label Jellymould Jazz . This was released in 2013 and received rave reviews, described by BBC Music Magazine's Daniel Spicer as "assured and sophisticated acoustic jazz with deep roots in the tradition, that knows exactly what it's trying to do - and succeeds."

Album credits:

The first Aquarium album was recorded in December 2009 at Porcupine Studios . It was engineered by Nick Taylor, produced by Richard Fairhurst, and mixed by Steve Lowe. 'Places' was recorded in April 2012 at Curtis Schwartz Studio, where it was mixed and mastered by Curtis Schwartz.

To purchase the first Aquarium album please click here . Preview mp3s are available on the Babel website . The album is also available to buy on iTunes .

To purchase 'Places' please click here